You have no items in your shopping cart.

Gemstones And Hindu Mythology : Science Of Gemology

Gemstone and Hindu Metholodgy



The motion of the planets and their positions in relation to each other, acts upon us throughout our lifetime, just as the lunar phases push and pull the oceans and the seas. All planets have certain magnetic and gravitational field and they reflect a different range of electromagnetic waves coming from the sun and each planet radiate certain wavelength of rays with different cosmic colors and spectrum, generating a particular energy and these energy fields have impacts on living and non-living whatever comes in their contact in the cosmos.Gemstone Mythology

In the Vedas we have the phrase “Yat Pinde Tat Brahmande” means we are a manifestation or just a reflection of the outer macrocosm. The location of various planets during a person’s birth can decide the nature and life of that person which can be traced out scientifically by the astrologer who knows the science of astrology and how these things work.

So, the planets and their different positions may have positive and negative effects on a person’s life. The Lagna chart in birth Kundali describes the planetary positions in terms of houses. Sometimes these planets are favorable or unfavorable or could have mixed results. Every person’s life is, therefore, the result of this cosmic design, this planetary arrangement seen in the sky at the time of our birth, which originated and resulted from the activities and actions during our previous lives.

A Karma plays an important role that decides the destiny of one’s life. Vedic astrology informs that effect of karma can be altered by various means of yoga( Karmayog, hathyog, kundalini yog, Bhakti yog, tantra..). There are several ways to balance or enhance our planetary karma. Its methods include meditation (the greatest balancing method), physical postures (yoga), medicine (Ayurveda), wearing of gemstones, color therapy, mantras, prayers, rituals, herbs, food, etc.

Vedic astrology deals with seven visible planets and two invisible ones: the SUN, MOON, MARS, MERCURY, JUPITER, VENUS, and SATURN, along with the two lunar nodes, RAHU (ascending lunar node) and KETU (descending lunar node). These nodes are the two intersecting points of the solar and lunar planes as seen from the earth.

Nine astrological gemstones ( Navratnas) are associated with these planets and each of the gemstones is ruled by these planets. So, the planets associated with each gemstone are shown below in the table.

Planet Hindi Names Vedic Gem Associated
Sun Surya Ruby
Moon Chandra Pearl
Jupiter Brihaspati Yellow Sapphire
Rahu Rahu Hessonite Garnet
Mercury Budha Emerald
Venus Sukra Diamond
Ketu Ketu Cat's Eye Chrysoberyl
Saturn Shani Blue Sapphire
Mars Mangal Coral


Our great sages and polymaths perfected the art and the science of astrology in ancient times. As such astrology has witnessed continuous development and proliferated into many branches and divisions, all of which are equal in importance. Gemology or the scientific and ethnic study of gemstones is an important and integral part of applied astrology. It is so popular among the Indian public that no one is certain as to when it had actually come into practice. The use of precious gems and stones has been an ancient practice in India. Some people believe that it is one or two thousand years old science while others maintain that science and art of gemology originated about five or ten thousand years ago. Scriptural pieces of evidence, however, show that the concept of gemology is as old as the creation itself.

Hindu Mythology and Gemstone

Even in Hindu mythology, there are several instances where gemstones and their glory have been described. Lord Vishnu bears Kaustubha Mani on his chest. In Vishnu Shashranaam we have this sloka

सहरवक्षस्थलकौस्तुभषरियाँ, नामामीविष्णूंसिरसाचतुर्भुजाम |

According to Vishnu Purana and Shrimad Bhagwat Mahapurana, Bali, the grandson of Prahlad was a great king of the demons. With a resolution of dethroning Indra as the king of heaven, Bali organized a hundred Ashwamedha Yagyas. On the appeal of Indra, Lord Vishnu decided to stop the hundredth Ashwamedha Yagya of Bali and arrived there in the guise of Vamana (a dwarf Brahmin) and begged him to donate land measuring three steps. In two steps, Lord measures entire earth and heaven. Since there was no room, then to put the third step, Bali offered his head for the Lord to put his third step. Thus, Lord Vishnu sent Bali direct to the Paatal & offered him to rule the Whole nether World. With the touch of the Lord’s foot, Bali’s earthy body converted into gemstones.

Thus, theorigin of different gems and jewels is as follows:

Manikya or Ruby: It originated from the Heart of Bali, hence it has red or pink color.

Moti or Pearl: It is believed to have originated from the mind or Manas of Raja Bali.

Munga or Laal Mooga or Pavizham or Coral: It is originated from the Blood of Mahabali

Pushyaraag or Peela Pukhraj or Yellow Sapphire: It originated from the flesh of Bali.

Indraneela or Blue Sapphire: It originated from the eyes of King Bali.

Vajra or Heera or Diamond: It originated from the pieces of Bali’s brain.

Hessonite or Gomed: This gem originated from the fat of the demon king.

Vaidurya or Lasouniya Cat’s Eye: This jewel originated from the Yagyopavit (sacred thread) of Bali.

Hara Panna or Maradaka Mani or Emerald: It originated from the nervous system of the demon king Bali.

Chandrakanth or Moonstone: It originated from the radiance of the eye’s pupils.

Ghrit Mani: This jewel originated from the pieces of the waist.

Tail Mani: Skin of king Bali formed this jewel.

Bheeshmak: This gem was produced from the headpieces of Bali.

Upalak Mani: phlegm of Bali produced this jewel.

Sphatik Mani (Rock Crystal): This jewel was formed from the sweat of Bali.

Paras Mani: Pieces of Bali’s heart formed Paras Mani.

Ulook Mani: This jewel was formed from the pieces of Bali’s tongue.

Lapis Lazuli: Bali’s hair formed this jewel.

Masar Mani: This jewel was produced from the feces of Bali.

Ishiv Mani: This jewel is believed to have from the semen of King Bali.

Thus, in all, eighty-four different parts and constituents of the demon king MahaBali. Of them, only twenty-one are described as gems or jewels due to the peculiar brilliance they possess. Of these twenty-one gems, only nine are most famous for their radiance & special powers and are hence known as Navaratna.

Thus, there are nine main gems or jewels, twelve common gems and sixty-three ordinary gems which are also known as sub-gems.


Leave your comment
Contact Support Contact Us
Contact Support   Contact Us
Contact Support
Message us at
+91 78388 74188
Email Us at